How to Delete Mail in Horde Webmail

Deleting Messages is a 2-steps process in Horde Webmail:

Horde does not come with a “Trash” folder so this must be created before you are allowed to delete mail.

1) Login and click on “New Messages”
2) Click on the “Folder Actions” and select “Create Mailbox”
3) Name the new mailbox “Trash”
4) In the same Folder Action dropdown, select “Rebuild folder list”

By default, in the Plesk-hosted Horde Webmail any messages deleted will be marked or moved to the Trash but not permanently deleted from the server. This means that when an email is deleted it continues taking up space.

Here is how to modify this setting so that deleted messages are placed in the Trash automatically.

Then

1- Log into your Horde Webmail.

Usually the URL is: http://webmail.yourdomain.tld
Replace "yourdomain.tld" with your real domain name.

2- Once you have logged in, click on the Options button at the top of the page.

3- At the top right of the "Options" page, in the dropdown menu select Mail.

4- Next, under "Message Options" select Deleting and Moving Message.

5- Check the following boxes:
Mark messages as seen when deleting? (Check)

Move deleted messages to your Trash mailbox instead of marking them as deleted in the current mailbox? (Check)

In Trash mailbox dropdown, select “Trash”

Purge Trash how often, select “Daily”

Purge messages in Trash mailbox older than this amount of days

Select your option here. (30)

Now all deleted email will be sent to your trash folder. And the trash will keep deleted messages for 30 days.

6- Click on Save Options. Now any mail that you delete from your inbox will automatically go to your Trash folder.

7- You can then click the Empty Trash icon to permanently delete the emails.


Properties ID: 000413   Views: 4250   Updated: 6 months ago